Understatement is a force….

After recent research I have embarked on a series of ‘new’ drawings. They are using graphite on torn  paper and I am trying to explore the themes prevalent in my work , the torn surface of the paper creating a fragile material to work with and the subdued colour of the graphite seems to capture perfectly the essence of my current work.

Whilst reading about the works of  Birgit Skiold, I have been able to relate to the social context of her work in the way she wanted to create a reflective mood one of contemplation influenced by aspects of Zen Buddhism and her visits to Japan.

I’m interested in the notion that the work can be ‘ verging on unnoticeable’, so although you may well pass it by you come back to take a second look and sometimes are drawn into the linear complexities.

Drawings take on an oriental self effacement i.e, not drawing attention to oneself and withdrawing into the background……..hence my thoughts of ‘understatement is a force’.

Structures of fragility were starting points in these drawings , seeking perfection, expressing positive states of existence and spiritual inspirations. I have been considering composition and how dense it can be made using small and delicate markings, how formal its content can exude simplicity.

The artist David Musgrave, whose primary practice is drawings, thoughts on his practice are interesting. In an interview in Frieze Magazine his work was described as:

He challenges your desire for fixed meaning while constantly tantalizing  you with a myriad of possibilities. How precise do you need to be ? How much meaning can you suggest with the slightest of of means ? “

Some of his work is replicates scored or damaged surfaces, elusive imagery all created with graphite, my interest in his work arises from the previously mentioned interview, do you have to really engage to see what his work is about, or would you pass it by ?

Thought about my work been ‘ wordless ‘ since I read this quote from the artist Agnes Martin :

” My interest is in experience that is wordless and silent, and in the fact that this experience can be expressed for me in artwork which is also wordless and silent “

These philosophies are of interest to my work , they make me consider the ‘understated’ and how slight and subtle sensibilities can be embraced and explored within these new drawings.

This entry was posted in Current Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment