Considering Physical Context……

 

During the last few months I have been considering where and what is the most successful setting for my work to be placed ?  As regards to the size of my work ,when its all together on the studio wall its hard to imagine each piece standing alone. The work tends to have a sense of belonging when its stands together, or is this just me having an over sentimental view as I tend to do…..last month my diminutive drawings were sent off to furrow their own path in the White Room in the sculpure department. Four of us hung our work and I was more impressed with how everybody elses work looked than my own.

Other work had a great sense of presence, but my drawings seemed to practically retreat back up to my studio !  It made me consider:

Should the work be framed ? Yes I think it needed the definition, so quantify its existence….

Should the work be hung differently ? Yes, I think just because they are small pieces they can be viewed as one piece.

Is the Gallery the right context for them to be seen ? Not sure, but it made me consider alternative ways of showing the work, something more intimate ?

This entry was posted in Current Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment