Bookworks

My research has taken me to explore different contexts within my work. After the fantastic opportunity that arose for me to get to see the Birgit Skiold Bookworks at South Shield library archives, I have started to experiment with putting some of drawings together in book format. I want to add another dimension to my work, to enhance the viewers experience, to physically hold the work, to touch the textured paper .

Within the work Im hoping to create a rhythm of the line or pattern that eludes to a type of meditation, a calming , restful image created by either drawing or etching the lines.

The first two small works that I put together were in a concertina style format, allowing the pieces to spacially unfold and create a visual narrative. The second option I considered was a box of drawings, again to engage the viewer in opening and looking, sorting, deciding, seeing it as a beautiful box or book than perhaps having a poem or story included.

The Birgit Skiold bookworks I saw were a collaboration with the poet James Kirkup, the text and prints just compliment each other wonderfully, its hard to imagine with came first the text or the print.

Before I can contemplate text my bookbinding skills need to be improved !

Concertina style book, showing collographs 5 x 5 cm.

Second book, showing drawings from ipad.

The books tied together before opening….

This entry was posted in Current Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment