Small Images in Lecture Theatre….

Encouraged by lecturers I had an opportunity to use the lecture theatre to show some of my ipad and graphite drawings on a large scale.

Virginia and I discussed the possibilities of taking the work further i.e make them bigger. I was surprised how the images seemed to keep their delicacy and detail, seeing them on a larger scale certainly didn’t take anything away from them.

What I had to consider was why the scale of my work is ultimately so important to me. Currently the size helps to depict its content and the intimacy Im hoping to cultivate, its becomes a private view, sometimes I think only myself can see them….

In trying to critically evaluate the work I have to start looking at the mediums I use, since its this medium of graphite that enables me to create the fragility I always searching for in my drawings, would this be the medium to use if I worked on a larger scale ?

Also to consider, does changing the scale:

1.  Create the fine lines Im used to ?

2. Resonate a quietness to the viewer ?

3. Would the result be delicate and subtle ?

Images larger would definitely have to be viewed from a distance, the space around them would be considered, inspiration from researching the work and writings of Agnes Martin (1912 – 2004 ).  Her superimposing network of pencilled lines and colour bands stained with washes of Colour, delicately drawn marks hovering over the canvas. Especially like her use of monochromatic colour with subtle variations in hue.

Although Im not a painter I feel so inspired by her work.

This selection of inquiry is helping me understand my work and consider her philosophies which seem to underpin the work I do currently.

The image below is an ipad drawing , originally 20 x 15 cm, seen here in the lecture theatre.

Graphite drawing, original 8 x 10 cm, show on larger scale on screen in lecture theatre.

Ipad drawing , intentionally photographed against my own reflection to depict scale.

This entry was posted in Current Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment